top of page

My Work Term Down-under with Queen Elizabeth II Scholars and other Education Abroad Opportunities


Anyone I have talked to in the last few months knows that I was living in Brisbane, Australia over the summer break. My internship was funded in part by a scholarship I received from Queen Elizabeth II called Global Generation: Energy and Environment (G2E2) as well as a stipend I received from the Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (AIBN), where I was placed for my Internship. The only requirement I had for the G2E2 scholarship was that my internship had to be related to energy and the environment, so with my brief experience with polymers in the Serpe Group at UAlberta I decided to apply this towards researching bio sustainable polyurethane foams for thermo-insulation at the AIBN under Prof. Darren Martin and Dr. Pratheep Annamalai. My work in the Martin Group allowed me to broaden my professional network and experience Australian work culture, not to mention make life long memories during my travels in Australia.


If Australia is not your dream destination, UAlberta Abroad offers programs in over 40 different countries which includes every continent except Antarctica. In addition to internships, there are exchanges and volunteer abroad opportunities as well as numerous scholarships for these programs. I cannot emphasize enough how rewarding an experience abroad would be for any degree, as it broadens your network and teaches you how to adapt to new cultural contexts, while being less risky thanks to the UAlberta Abroad office ensuring you are able to find help while abroad.


For the sake of keeping this short I would like to say that there is a lot more I have to say about my experience in Australia, both professional experiences and during my travels around the continent. With that in mind if this post has made you interested in learning more about Australia or QES G2E2 feel free to shoot me an email (curl@ualberta.ca) or better yet come into CSA and ask me in person. If you had questions about other education abroad opportunities I would recommend checking out the Find a Program page (https://www.ualberta.ca/international/go-abroad/programs).


Best of luck on exams!


- Jonah 😊

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page